Each state, including Wisconsin, has laws that govern how long you have to take action in a civil case. These time limits are called statutes of limitations. Understanding some of the basic points about statutes of limitations can help you know how to proceed with the wrongful death case you wish to file in connection with your loved one’s passing.
What affects the statutes of limitations?
There is a variety of factors that can affect the time limits in personal injury cases. The victim’s age, for example, can affect the amount of time you have to file a claim. If the incident that caused the injury occurs but the injury isn’t apparent right away, the discovery of harm rule might alter the statutes of limitations.
What is the discovery of harm rule?
The discovery of harm rule means that the countdown toward the statutes of limitations time limit doesn’t start until you know or should have reasonably known about the injury. In the case of a wrongful death lawsuit, the countdown would start when you learn of your loved one’s death.
What is the statute of limitations in Wisconsin?
The statute of limitations in Wisconsin is 3 years. This means that you have 3 years from the date of the accident or from the date of your loved one’s death to file the claim for compensation.
Losing a loved one is a big shock. While your need to take time to process your loved one’s death is understandable, it is vital that you get the process for seeking compensation going as soon as possible so that you don’t accidentally miss the time you are allowed to seek compensation.
Source: FindLaw, “Time Limits to Bring a Case: The “Statute of Limitations”,” accessed June 25, 2015